M I N U T E S

REGENTS PUBLIC LIBRARY ADVISORY COMMITTEE Thursday, May 18, 2006 5:30 – 7:30 PM

Attending:

Directors:

Susan Whittle Gary Swint Gail Rogers Greg Heid Diana Tope Steve Schaefer John Szabo Richard Sanders Kathryn Ames Alan Kaye Dusty Gres

Absent:

Melody Jenkins

GPLS Staff:

Susan Roberts David Singleton Lamar Veatch

The organizing meeting of the new Regents Public Library Advisory Committee (R-PLAC) was called to order by State Librarian, Lamar Veatch. He explained the purpose of R-PLAC and of its transition from the State Grants Advisory Council (SGAC). He reviewed the actions taken earlier that afternoon in the Directors Meeting to provide for broad representation, in accordance with the proposal for R-PLAC that had been accepted by the Board of Regents at their meeting on May 17, 2006.

Below are the library system groupings with those representatives elected for full threeyear terms as well as those transitioning from the SGAC. Subject to By-Laws adoption, terms should coincide with the state fiscal year of July-June. One year appointments would end on June 30, 2007; two year appointments would end on June 30, 2008; and three year appointments would end on June 30, 2009.

Regents Public Library Advisory Committee Membership Representation - Three Members from each of these library system groupings.

Urban/Rural Multi- County Regional Library	Rural Multi-County Regional Library	Rural Single County	Urban Single Count
Systems	Systems	Library Systems	Library Systems
Athens Regional	Bartram Trail		
(Athens)	(Washington)	Brooks Co.	Atlanta-Fulton Co.
Chattahoochee			
(Columbus)	Cherokee (Lafayette)	Chattooga Co.	Bartow Co.
Chestatee (Dawsonville)	Coastal Plain (Tifton)	Elbert Co.	Clayton Co.
East Central (Augusta)	DeSoto Trail (Camilla)	Fitzgerald Co.	Cobb Co.

Hart Co.

Lee Co.

Peach Co.

Thomas Co.

Jefferson Co.

Moultrie-Colquit Co.

Roddenbery (Grady Co.)

Twin Lakes (Baldwin Co.)

Live Oak (Savannah) Middle Georgia (Macon) Northwest (Dalton) Piedmont (Winder) Sara Hightower (Rome) Sequoyah (Canton) South Georgia (Valdosta)

Flint River (Griffin)

Statesboro Three Rivers (Brunswick)

Troup-Harris-Coweta Uncle Remus (Madison)

West Georgia (Carrollton)

Representatives: Steve Schaefer -1 year Kathie Ames – 2 years Gary Swint – 3 years **Representatives:** Diana Tope 1 year Dusty Gres – 2 years Susan Whittle – 3 years

Kinchafoonee (Dawson)

Mountain (Young Harris)

Northeast (Clarksville)

Ocmulgee (Eastman)

Okefenokee (Waycross)

Southwest (Bainbridge)

Lake Blackshear

Oconee (Dublin)

Pine Mountain

Satilla (Douglas)

Screvin-Jenkins

(Sylvania)

(Manchester)

Ohoopee (Vidalia)

(Americus)

Representatives: Melody Jenkins -1 year Richard Sanders – 2 years Alan Kaye – 3 years Representatives: Gail Rogers – 1 year Greg Heid – 2 years John Szabo – 3 years

Convers-Rockdale Co.

DeKalb Co.

Forsyth Co. Gwinnett Co.

Hall Co.

Henry Co.

Houston Co.

Newton Co.

Dougherty Co.

ty

At the request of the State Librarian, Steve Schaefer agreed to be nominated as Chair of R-PLAC for this first year. He was unanimously elected.

Lamar Veatch reported that the next meeting of R-PLAC would take place on June 6, 2006, in conjunction with the June meeting of the Board of Regents. This will provide a convenient opportunity for Regent Liaisons to meet with R-PLAC. He advised that R-PLAC should begin to develop By-Laws that would be vetted through the Chancellor's office.

Chairman Schaefer appointed a By-Laws Committee. Volunteers for this assignment are Susan Whittle, Greg Heid, and Alan Kaye, Chair.

Steve Schaefer recommended that the group spend some time brainstorming a work plan for R-PLAC. The Committee developed the following topics for emphasis:

- 1. Funding
- 2. Laws and Policies
- 3. Governance (Accountability)
- 4. Equalization (including Standards) and
- 5. Vision-Values-Perception.

Upon consensus that these were the principle areas of concern for public libraries, the Chair suggested that subcommittees be established to develop each of these topics, producing documentation related to background, current situation, goals, etc. The following R-PLAC members volunteered for these subcommittee assignments:

- 1. **Funding** Diana Tope, John Szabo, Kathie Ames, Susan Whittle, and Gary Swint.
- 2. Laws and Policies Diana Tope, Gail Rogers, Alan Kaye, Susan Whittle, Gary Swint, and Dusty Gres.
- 3. **Governance** (Accountability) John Szabo, Greg Heid, Kathie Ames, Gail Rogers, and Gary Swint.
- 4. **Equalization (Standards)** Diana Tope, Greg Heid, Kathie Ames, Susan Whittle, John Szabo, and Richard Sanders.
- 5. Vision-Values-Perception Alan Kaye, Dusty Gres, Richard Sanders, Gail Rogers, and Greg Heid.

Melody Jenkins, who could not attend this meeting, will be asked by the Chairman to select at least two of these subcommittees for her participation.

As much of the work of the subcommittees would be by email, there was a consensus that an R-PLAC listserv would facilitate this work. GPLS agreed to establish an R-PLAC listserv.

There was discussion of how R-PLAC would communicate with the full group of 58 directors. It was agreed upon that official communication would come through the R-PLAC Chair, but that any director was free to communicate with any R-PLAC member on any topic or concern. The R-PLAC member would be responsible for relaying said information to the chair of the appropriate subcommittee.

Also, there will be time set aside at GPLS Public Library Directors meetings for R-PLAC to make formal reports.

Chairman Schaefer adjourned the meeting at 7:30pm.